Brunch & a DIY #fail

This weekend I hosted my first event at my new house – brunch for my book club.  On the menu was hashbrown casserole, Mediterranean baked eggs, homemade granola, hummus and a cheese tray. I was excited to use some of my new gifts: a Texas shaped cutting board and cheese knives.  I used both leafs in my dining room table and pulled out all the stops – tablecloth, cloth napkins and silver chargers.  It was the first time several of the girls had been to my house, and others hadn’t been since I’d made so many updates so it was a great chance to show off my house and spend time with good friends.

On Saturday afternoon after my bookclub brunch had ended, my new ice maker was delivered! On Sunday afternoon after going to a Japanese Festival in Dallas, I began the installation of my ice maker. Everything went pretty smoothly until it came time to connect the water line to the refrigerator.  I was clearly missing something, so after a quick trip to Home Depot I thought I had what I needed.

I got home and managed to break the existing valve on the end of the pipe (not good), which caused water to spew out everywhere. If I turned off the valve, water shot out the top, if I left the valve open it poured out.  I filled 2+ buckets with water while attempting to fix the valve. After shutting off the water supply to my house I made a trip to Lowe’s to get new hardware & a new tool.  The man at Lowe’s in the plumbing department showed me everything I needed to buy and even how to install the new pieces. I acquired a pipe cutter, a new valve, and a hose to connect the pipe & valve to the fridge. In the end, I was successful and I now have an ice maker in my freezer!

2 thoughts on “Brunch & a DIY #fail

Leave a Reply

